The relics of Kunming Garden lies in Haidian district. It has a high frame in the history of making gardens in the world and is “the Best One of all Garden” because of the long history, the high art and the rich, historical, cultural and artistically connotation.
Yuanming Garden was originally native place in Ming Dynasty with the areas of 300 mu. In 1700, it was granted to Yinzhen, Prince Yong. Yongzheng extended it largely to 3,000 and 28 scenic spots after he ascended throne. After Qianlong ascended throne, he extended it again. In 1745, it had another 40 made scenic spots and Qianlong himself inscribed poems for them. During 1749 and 1751 ,Changchun Garden was built in the east of Yuanming Garden. In 1760, the 10 scenic spots was built in European style in the north of Changchun Garden were made into Qichuan Garden (later called Wanchun Garden). In the year of Jiaqing (in 1809), it was added several ranted gardens of the western road and made into 30 scenic spots.
Yuanming Garden’s (including Chanchu and Wanchu) perimeter wall was about 10 kilometers long , occupied land 5,200 mu,and the built-up area was 160,000 square meters, is more longer than Gugong’s. There were over 100 bridges in wood and stone and over 140 scenic spots in Yuanming Garden. The style of its focuses on all of the best and combines the natural and man-made scenes of china and all of the country. It drew lesson from the Europe architecture, and formed its own style.
During 100 years of the gradually building and adding The three gardens, several emperors in Qing Dynasty, had the name of “escaping from the noise, and dealing with the affair country” count to build the outside palace and inner palace. They usually entertained and dealt with their affairs of their country in Yuanming Garden, and kept jewelry, cultural relics, books which were priceless in this garden.
It is distressing that the precious place which was the Best One of all Gardens was burnt by the British and France Allied Forces in 1860 and the Eight-Power Allied Forces in 1900, and then became the ruins.