City God Temple of Xian
The City God Temple is located in the east side of the Da Xue Xi Lane, West Avenue, Xian City. Built in the 20th year(1387 A.D.) of Hongwu Reign of Ming Dynasty and originally situated at Jiuyao Street inside of the West gate of the City Wall, it was moved to the present site in the 8th year(1433 A.D.) of Xuande Reign of Ming Dynasty. It covers an area of 11024 square meters, with construction area of about 4466 square meters. At the mountain gate of the temple there is a big Memorial arch, on the arch is overlap Dougong, under the arch is a pair of iron male lions. Inside the mountain gate there is a hundred meters long black stone paved path leading to the second door, and between them is a Wenchang pavilion. There is a delicate beautiful opera theater when entering the second door, which is opposite to the Big Hall in the north-south direction. Between them sits an imposing wooden arch, building eaves have beautifully painted picture and Yin Yang Tai Chi Bagua pattern. The Big hall miankuo seven and Jinshen five, in the middle worshiped the City God of Xi’an, on both sides worshiped with devils in animal forms and black and white impermanence, judge, ghost.
Xian-city-god-temple-02The original main building gate, the pavilion, dance floor, arch hall, tract homes, rooms, etc, mostly destroyed, Now the existing building is the hall reconstructed in the first year of the reign of Emperor Yong Zheng in Qing Dynasty. Dougong eaves, spectacular and magnificent, the roof is covered with glazed tiles, the former Yan sash windows and doors embossed with various patterns, meticulously carved, exquisitely designed. Inside the hall originally stood the statues of the City God,Judge, and Goblin. Outside the Temple Archway originally erected a pair of bronze lions, which were built in Ming Jiajing thirty-eight year (1559). This temple is a famous monastic temple of Xi’an and a gather place of merchants and skilled workmen.
In June 25, 2001, City God Temple as the ancient building of Ming and Qing Dynasties was approved by the State Council as the fifth batch of national key cultural relic protection unit.